A 20-year old man is facing reckless driving charges after crashing into an elderly couple’s home in Barnstable, Massachusetts. According to police alcohol was a factor, and as a result the driver of the vehicle, Michael Gregory, is facing charges of operating under the influence, and having alcohol as a minor in addition to reckless […]
Mecklenburg County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Most Virginia drivers are well aware of their rights and responsibilities on the road. However, not many drivers know that violating the speed limit could lead to criminal charges and not just a speeding ticket. A reckless driving charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A class 1 offense is the most serious level of misdemeanor under state law.
Drivers convicted of a reckless driving charge could face stiff legal penalties, as well as points on their driving record. If you were recently charged with reckless driving, or a related charge, contact Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyers today. Skilled defense attorneys are ready to defend you against this charge, and will fight to help you avoid conviction.
Reckless Driving Defined
State law defines many different types of reckless driving, or driving in a manner likely to cause injury or property damage. One of the most common reckless driving charges in Mecklenburg is reckless speeding. Virginia Code specifically defines reckless driving as “at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit.”
Anyone driving 20 miles per hour (MPH) or more over an area’s maximum speed limit could face a reckless driving charge. For example, if a city has a posted speed limit of 25 MPH, then anyone driving 45 MPH or more could face this charge.
The same charge could apply when a motorist drives over 80 MPH, regardless of the local speed limit. In other words, driving 80 MPH or more could lead to a reckless driving charge, even if the driver was on the freeway. A speeding-related reckless driving charge is one of several reckless driving charges under state law. Other reckless driving charges in Mecklenburg include:
- Failure to properly use turn signals
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Driving with an obstructed view
- Passing an emergency vehicle
- Passing at a railroad crossing
- Driving with faulty brakes
- Racing another vehicle
Penalties for Conviction
Most first reckless driving offenses are Class 1 misdemeanors. Those convicted of a reckless driving misdemeanor face harsh penalties, including:
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Fines up to $2,500
- Six driving record points
- License suspension up to 6 months
Not only will a driver face the above penalties if convicted, they also have to deal with having a criminal driving record. In Mecklenburg, a reckless driving conviction for speeding stays on a driver’s DMV record for 11 years.
Drivers who must submit their record to an employer or educational institution could face job loss, scholarship loss, and other lost opportunities due to their conviction. Anyone facing this charge should call a reckless driving lawyer in Mecklenburg right away.
Reckless Driving vs. Distracted Driving
Virginia Code also illustrates the offenses of texting or emailing while operating a motor vehicle. Driving while texting or emailing is a distinct offense that is separate from a reckless driving charge.
Driving while texting or emailing is considered a traffic infraction, rather than a criminal misdemeanor. Those found guilty of texting or emailing while driving face a $125 fine for a first offense, and a $250 fine for a second offense.
Contacting a Mecklenburg Reckless Driving Attorney
If you are facing a reckless driving charge, or were ticketed for texting or emailing while driving, contact skilled attorneys today. Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyers will defend against criminal driving charges and can help you keep your driving record clean.