Brunswick DUI Lawyer 

A DUI or DWI charge can negatively impact many aspects of your life, from your reputation to your finances, and can leave you feeling overwhelmed and unsure of what to expect.

DUI laws are especially complex and severe in Virginia. Even a first-time DUI offense could carry penalties like fines, loss of driving privileges, and even jail time.

Since the consequences of a DUI in Virginia are harsh, it is important to discuss the details of your individual case with a local defense attorney. A Brunswick DUI lawyer can fight to help you achieve a favorable outcome and support you throughout the legal process.

Definition of DUI in Virginia

If a person drives with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher, they may be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI). In Virginia, “DUI” and “DWI” are used interchangeably to describe the same charge.

A person could even be charged with a DUI with a BAC lower than 0.08 percent if they are:

  • Under 21 years of age
  • A commercial driver
  • Driving under the influence of illicit or prescription drugs

Many people wonder how many alcoholic drinks add up to a 0.08% BAC, but this depends on a person’s age, weight, and gender. In truth, it is safest to never drink and drive.

First DUI Offense in Brunswick

It may be surprising to find out that a first-time DUI offense is still punished very strictly in Virginia. A person cannot simply pay a ticket or attend a safe driving class. Instead, they could be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which may leave them with a permanent criminal record.

If charged, someone should consult with a Brunswick DUI lawyer could face:

  • A loss of driving privileges for up to one year
  • Up to 10 days in jail depending on their BAC level
  • Mandatory completion of VASAP (Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program)
  • A minimum of $250 in fines
  • A requirement of installation of a breathalyzer device in their vehicle if granted restricted driving privileges

Multiple Driving Under the Influence Charges

In Virginia, the penalties for subsequent DUIs increase after a first conviction. Someone could be facing misdemeanor penalties ranging from a three-year license suspension and a $500 fine to five years in jail and a $2,500 fine, or even felony charges.

The penalties for second, third, and further offenses depend on how much time has passed between each offense, a person’s BAC level, if children were in the vehicle, and whether or not someone was injured or killed as a result of the DUI/DWI (see Code of Virginia 18.2-270.)

A Brunswick DUI lawyer can go over any potential penalties an individual might face and develop an aggressive defense strategy against those punishments.

Brunswick Felony DUI Charges

A DUI in Brunswick could potentially be prosecuted as a Class 6 felony if a person is charged for the third time in 10 years or if someone was seriously injured or killed. A felony DUI carries penalties such as:

  • Indefinite suspension of the person’s license
  • Extensive jail time
  • Significant fines

Contact Brunswick DUI Attorneys

Being charged with a DUI in Virginia may seem like a hopeless situation. However, you may have legal options that could reduce your penalties and alleviate some of the stress of a DUI charge. Contact a Brunswick DUI lawyer today and find out how they can help you.