Lawrenceville Reckless Driving Lawyer

When an individual is charged with reckless driving in Virginia, their entire future may be at stake. Reckless driving is a serious offense, and if convicted, an individual can find themselves facing a loss of driving privileges or even jail time. The courtroom can be a confusing place, and if you want to have your case dismissed or reduced, you will more than likely need the assistance of an experienced reckless driving defense lawyer. If you have been charged with reckless driving, contact a Lawrenceville reckless driving lawyer to learn more about your legal rights and options.

Reckless Driving Defined

According to the official Code of Virginia 46.2-862, an individual can be convicted of reckless driving if they:

  • Exceed the posted speed limit by more than 20 miles per hour
  • Drive more than 80 miles per hour regardless of the posted speed limit

The same section of the Code of Virginia also gives the law permission to charge drivers with reckless driving for the following offenses as well:

  • Passing on or at a curve
  • Failing to signal properly
  • Failure to yield right-of-way
  • Passing a stopped school bus or emergency vehicle
  • Racing
  • Passing at a railroad crossing

In short, a person can be charged with reckless driving if a law enforcement official believes that their driving places the lives of other motorists in danger.

Potential Legal Consequences in Lawrenceville

Drivers who are found guilty of reckless driving will receive a Class 1 misdemeanor and a minimum fine of $250. If a driver’s reckless driving results in the death of another motorist, or the driver does not have a valid license at the time of the offense, the reckless driving charge becomes a Class 6 felony instead of a misdemeanor.

Despite the law’s provisions regarding reckless driving, it is possible to have someone’s charges reduced or dismissed. According to section 46.2-869 of the Code, the court does have the right to reduce a reckless driving charge to the less serious “improper driving” charge.

This charge is considered a traffic infraction (as opposed to a criminal charge), and if found guilty, an individual will be fined a maximum of $500. If a person has a clean driving record, a skilled Lawrenceville reckless driving attorney may be able to get their charge reduced.

Working with a Lawrenceville Reckless Driving Lawyer

When facing reckless driving charges, many individuals are tempted to forgo hiring an attorney and represent themselves in court. This is understandable, but what many drivers do not realize is that they are facing a very serious charge, and reckless driving, like drunk driving or carrying a concealed weapon, is a Class 1 misdemeanor. This misdemeanor will remain on your record, and can even prevent you from getting the job you want or passing a simple background check. With so much at stake, you will want to hire a Lawrenceville reckless driving lawyer for the following reasons:

  • Attorneys have legal knowledge and experience that many individuals do not
  • In the state of Virginia, you may not need to go to court at all. If you are issued a summons, you can choose to have your attorney negotiate on your behalf
  • Unrepresented individuals have a greater chance of losing their case than those who choose to hire an attorney

With the right Lawrenceville reckless driving lawyer on your side, you will be better prepared for your day in court. When you work with an experienced attorney, you will receive their full attention and have access to their wealth of legal knowledge.