Types of Virginia License Suspension Offenses 

Following a traffic stop, certain things can occur, resulting in a license suspension. There are different types of Virginia license suspension offenses that can result in the loss of license for an individual. For example, if someone is charged with a DUI, they will have their license suspended temporarily. The suspension of a license can make it difficult for people to go to work, run errands, and fulfill other any other obligations they may have. If you have had your license suspended as the result of a traffic offense, get in touch with a qualified Virginia suspended license attorney today.

Common Causes of License Suspension

There are many types of Virginia license suspension offenses. For example, a criminal conviction of a certain kind, e.g., DUIs, reckless driving, possession, driving while suspended. Then there is also the category of owing the clerk’s office a fine or cost. If a person owes money to the clerk of a certain jurisdiction, the clerk has the power to issue a letter to the Department of Motor Vehicles (“DMV”) stating that this person has defaulted in paying a fine or costs and should be placed on suspension. A third category is when a person reaches a certain number of demerit points on his driving record; that is 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months. These are the most common ways somebody can be placed on suspension.

If somebody reaches 12 points in 12 months or 18 points in 24 months on their driving record, they have to enroll in a Driving Improvement Clinic within 90 days of suspension. Upon completion of that course, their suspension period ends. However, if they reach 18 or more points in 12 months or 24 demerit points in 24 months, they receive the suspension and an added six months of probation before their license can be restored.

Ways Someone Can Lose Their License

There are two ways that a person can lose their license. First, there is what is called an Administrative Suspension which happens right after an arrest. If somebody’s suspected of DUI and is cuffed for that, they would lose their license for about seven days administratively or for a month following certain kinds of stops. If their blood alcohol level reaches a certain point or if the person refuses to take a breath test, they are immediately placed on administrative suspension.

The second way is after the conviction. A first DUI offense conviction, for a standard first DUI, has an automatic one-year suspension of license after a conviction. After one year the person can pursue a License Reinstatement Process which involves completing an Alcohol Safety and Education Program and also paying a fee for reinstatement.

Suspension for Failure to Pay Fines

When somebody gets convicted of any traffic offense, they have about 30 days from that time to pay their court costs. The Virginia Statute interprets this as an implied consent to pay any lawful fines or court costs by anybody driving on the roads.

If a person does not pay the fines or court costs after a certain period of time, the Clerk issues a Notice from the Court that goes to the Department of Motor Vehicle (“DMV”), which states that this person was found guilty of an offense, was assessed a certain fine, and has not paid that fine. The DMV then suspends the person’s driver’s license. The Notice that comes from the Clerk is actually all the notice that is required for a suspension. That is how that is done. There is an appeal process if a person thinks they do not owe this amount of money, and they can request a hearing in court.

Contact a Lawyer

License suspension is more than inconvenient. It can impede individuals from accomplishing the things they need to accomplish. If you want to know more about the different types of Virginia license suspension offenses, get in touch with a determined lawyer who can work to defend you.